Grafting

A couple of weeks ago I grafted together the ends of the cowls for my BFF Cowl project.  It turns out to be nearly impossible to graft anything together that has a mix of knits and purls but I did my best.

I don’t think you’d be able to see the errors from a galloping horse, which for something I’m not putting in a competition is a good rule of thumb.
I found that I got completely lost trying to read and follow standard written grafting directions.  They just make my head hurt.  But if I look at the diagrams in directions like this and then just tell myself where my needle should go to get knit stitches or purl stitches, then I do ok.  Not perfect, but ok.  This might be a result of being a very visual person.  It’s like doing the long tail cast on, who can figure out these directions until you feel them in your hands?

About Heddi Craft

Heddi Craft is a lifelong fiber artist and crafter. She has been designing shawls since 2014 and enjoys working with simple shapes and unique design features. She currently lives with her husband and three children in Santa Cruz, California, a coastal town with a mild climate that inspires her work.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

